Vietnam’s pilot e-visa programme added more six countries

16:23 05/12/2017

PSNews - The e-visa pilot program has had positive impacts on Vietnam’s tourism industry since it was implemented at the beginning of the year.

The Vietnamese Government has just issued the Resolution No.124/NQ-CP to add more six countries in the list of Vietnam’s pilot e-visa programme. 

Accordingly, citizens from Australia, the United Arab Emirates, Canada, India, Netherlands and New Zealand could apply for e-visa to travel to Vietnam from November 29.

Photo for illustration. 

Earlier, Decree No.07/2017/NĐ-CD which took effect in February 2017 stipulates that visitors from the following 40 countries can apply for and receive Vietnamese visas online, including Azerbaijan, Argentina, Armenia, Ireland, Poland, Belarus, Bulgaria, Brunei, the Republic of Korea, Germany, Chile, Colombia, Czech, Cuba, Denmark, Timor-Leste, the US, Hungary, Greece, Italy, Kazakhstan, Russia, the UK, Luxembourg, Myanmar, Mongolia, Japan, Panama, Peru, Finland, France, the Philippines, Romania, Spain, Sweden, China (not applicable for Chinese e-passport holders), Uruguay, Venezuela, Norway and Slovakia.

According to the decree, foreigners can apply for e-visas by accessing or to upload photos and passport pages following the standard form, before receiving the electronic file code and paying the visa fee to the account specified on the e-visa information page.

Within three working days from the date of receiving the information on the application for e-visas and visa fees, the Immigration Department shall consider and settle the applications and reply to the electronic visa applicants through the electronic visa information page.

Foreigners applying for e-visas can use the electronic file code to check the results at the above e-visa website; if they are granted electronic visas, they can use the electronic code to print their visas.

By Linh Bui