Twenty countries recognise Vietnamese vaccine passports

Thứ Năm, 12/05/2022, 21:35

Vietnam has achieved mutual recognition for COVID-19 vaccination certificates, known as “vaccine passports”, with 20 countries so far.

Deputy Spokesman of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Doan Khac Viet revealed the information at the ministry’s regular press briefing on May 12.

The nation has reached agreements with Japan, the US, the UK, Australia, India, Belarus, Cambodia, the Philippines, Malaysia, the Maldives, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Egypt, Turkey, Singapore, Saint Lucia, the Republic of Korea, Iran, Palestine and the Dominican Republic.

On May 11, the European Commission decided to recognize Vietnam’s e-vaccine passport. Accordingly, the Vietnamese passport will be recognized by 27 EU member countries, and its QR code will also be certified and checked in the territories of 39 partners of the EU’s e-vaccine passport system, he added.

As a result, Vietnam’s vaccine passport can now be used across 81 countries and territories globally, the spokesman said, while putting down this achievement to coordination among the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Information and Communications to negotiate with partner countries.