Hanoi considers upgrading 3 districts into municipal status

19:38 07/10/2021

3 districts of Hanoi, namely Dong Anh, Soc Son and Me Linh, are set to be upgraded to cities  in the next 5 years, according to the latest Hanoi development plan.

Hanoi considers upgrading 3 districts into municipal status -0

Under the five-year Hanoi development plan, local authorities consider upgrading the status of these districts to “cities within city”.

If the plan is approved and implemented, Dong Anh, Soc Son and Me Linh will become Hanoi’s first 3 cities. After the changes in administrative boundaries in 2008, former Ha Tay province, which had 2 cities including Ha Dong and Son Tay, was merged into the capital city. Ha Dong became a district while Son Tay became a town.

According to the current regulations, a municipal status must have a population of over 150,000 people, a total area of over 150 square kilometers, at least 10 communes or wards. It also has been recognized as an urban area levels of 1, 2 or 3, meeting the standards for infrastructure and socio-economic development.

The three districts mentioned above meet all of the requirements.

Currently, Hanoi has 12 urban districts, one town and 17 suburbs. Of the 17 suburbs, 8 districts are set to become urban district by 2030.